Victor Moses wins inaugural NFF Player of the Year award

Victor Moses and Asisat Oshoala were the biggest winners in the inaugural edition of the Aiteo-NFF Awards 2018, after winning the men's and women's Player of the Year awards on Monday.

Chelsea wideman Moses saw off competition from Leicester City's Wilfred Ndidi and Anthony Okpotu of Lobi Stars to win the Player of the Year award.

Oshoala, the reigning CAF Women's Footballer of the Year, bested Francisca Ordega and Charity Reuben to win the female prize.

At an event held at the Grand Ballroom, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos the duo were named winners in front of an audience including FIFA President Gianni Infantino, FIFA Secretary General, Fatma Samoura, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad and the evening's host, NFF President Amaju Pinnick.

It was an opportunity for past and present Nigerian football dignitaries to be gathered together and honoured in an award ceremony to celebrate the best of the nation's football during the last 12 months.

Coach of reigning Nigeria League Champions Plateau United, Kennedy Boboye, was named Coach of the Year award (Men), and Sikiru Olatunbosun of MFM FC was honoured with the Goal of the Year award for his exceptional strike against Enugu Rangers in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

Other winners on the night were former Super Falcons goalkeeper Ann Chiejine and home-based Super Eagles left back Ikouwem Udoh, who capped a memorable year by carting home the Young Player of the Year award (Men).

posted by: kawhismile 3 years ago
  • 0 Like(s)